Featured SliderLatestNews

Four new appointments to the Natural England board

Defra Ministers have appointed four new non-executive members to the board of Natural England.

Rosamund Blomfield-Smith, Kim Shillinglaw, Kerry ten Kate and Peter Unwin have been appointed for three years commencing 1 June 2020.

Rosamund is currently chairman of Museum of London Archaeology, a member of Ofgem’s Challenge Group, and chairman of Ofcom’s Independent Advisory Group. Kim is a senior media executive who has initiated content from Stargazing Live to Blue Planet II as Head of Science and Natural History Commissioning.

Peter Unwin is an ex-civil servant with ten years Board level experience as director general at Defra and DCLG and a spell as acting Permanent Secretary at Defra. Kerry ten Kate is an independent consultant, advising governments, companies, banks and civil society organisations on how best to integrate the natural environment into economic decision-making.




Environment Minister Rebecca Pow said: “Natural England has a crucial role to play as we deliver our pledge to leave the environment in a better state for future generations. The new board members bring a breadth of experience and knowledge that will be invaluable in our mission to protect and restore England’s nature and landscapes.”

Board members play an important role in supporting and encouraging the executive team in improving Natural England’s delivery for the natural environment by driving forward substantial change to deliver value for money, excellent customer service and better collaboration with key partners while maintaining a clear overview, and ensuring business continuity, across the range of its functions.

Natural England is key in delivering the government’s environmental priorities. Its general purpose is to ensure the natural environment is conserved, enhanced and managed for the benefit of present and future generations, thereby contributing to sustainable development.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button