EventsFeatured SliderMaintain

IOG Industry Awards celebrate sports turf excellence

This year’s finalists announced by Institute of Groundmanship

The finalists have been announced for the prestigious IOG Industry Awards 2013, after a record number of nominations were received.

Now in their fifth year, the Awards acknowledge the high standards achieved by volunteer and professional teams and individuals at facilities that range from grassroots through to professional stadia level.

The Awards’ judging process recognises achievement, innovation and fresh thinking as well as examples of best practice from the leaders in the world of groundsmanship.

The aim of the Awards is to raise industry standards and encourage greater professionalism within the industry, and the successful winners will be announced Oscar-style at the Ricoh Arena, Coventry on Thursday, 5 December. The finalists are:

Professional Awards

IOG Professional Cricket Groundsman of the Year

Gary Barwell, Warwickshire CC

Steve Birks, Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club (Trent Bridge)

IOG Professional Rugby Union Groundsman of the Year

Martin Knight, Worcester Warriors RFC

Myles Landick, Jersey RFC

IOG Professional Rugby League Groundsman of the Year

Jason Booth, Leeds Rhinos

John Lupton, Castleford Tigers

IOG Professional Tennis Groundsman of the Year

Neil Stubley, All England Lawn Tennis Club (Wimbledon)

Ian Wall, Bank of England Recreation Club, Roehampton, London.

IOG Campey/Imants Professional Football Groundsman of the Year

Darren Baldwin, Tottenham Hotspur FC

Tony Stones, Wembley Stadium

IOG John Deere Professional Horse Racing Groundsman of the Year

Adrian Kay, York Racecourse

Shaun Reilly, Huntingdon Racecourse

IOG National Governing Bodies Professional Spectator Sports Ground of the Year – co sponsored by the AELTC (All England Lawn Tennis Club), ECB (the England and Wales Cricket Board), the Football Association (The FA), the Football Foundation, the Lawn Tennis Association (the LTA), the Premier League, the RFL (Rugby Football League), and the RFU (Rugby Football Union).

Etihad Stadium, Manchester

White Hart Lane, London

IOG Professional Sports Ground Team of the Year

Huntingdon Racecourse

Leeds Rhinos

Liberty Stadium, Swansea

The Hurlingham Club, Fulham

Wembley Stadium

IOG Rigby Taylor/Top Green Young Groundsman of the Year

Ryan Golding, Leeds Rhinos

Will Graves, Merchant Taylors’ School, Middlesex

Grassroots Awards

IOG Toro School, College or University Sports Club Groundsman of the Year

Stephen Fidler, St James Independent Boys’ School, Middlesex

Adam Tester, University of Leicester

IOG School, College or University Sports Club Grounds Team of the Year

St Albans School, Hertfordshire

Hampton School, Middlesex

IOG Most Promising Sportsturf Student of the Year 

Dean Bryce, Campbell Park Cricket Club, Milton Keynes

Martin Stephenson, Ashbrook Sports Club, County Durham

IOG White Horse Contractors Grassroots Sports Ground of the Year

Aspatria RUFC, Cumbria

Beversbrook Sports Facility, Wiltshire

IOG Vitax Supaturf Volunteer Sports Groundsman of the Year

John Heyworth, Aspatria RUFC, Cumbria

Mark Jones, Falmouth Town FC, Cornwall

IOG Ransomes Jacobsen Environmental Project/Innovation of the Year

Forest Green Rovers FC, Gloucestershire

The Harefield Academy, Middlesex

IOG Kubota/Redexim Charterhouse Best Maintained Artificial Pitch of the Year

Hampton School, Middlesex

One Leisure, Cambridgeshire

The IOG Alex R Millar DLF/Johnsons Groundsman of the Year Award

The coveted IOG Alex R Millar DLF/Johnson Groundsman of the Year Award is named after the inspirational chair of the IOG, who held the post from 1991-1993 and 2002-2009. The winner of this Award will be announced at the awards ceremony.

IOG Everris & Syngenta Lifetime Achievement Award

The winner of this Award will be announced at the awards ceremony.

Visit NOW for details of how you can attend the most exciting annual Awards ceremony ever staged for the groundscare industry.



Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button