Landscape Institute announce new categories and application process

The #LIAwards2018 team has announced a number of exciting changes to this year’s Awards. This year, two new categories have been added. One is the first to be open to individuals and organisations globally. The other will showcase the industry’s most innovative and beautiful horticulture projects.

In addition, the awards submissions process has been simplified. In line with LI‘s ‘digital first’ strategy, the process has been moved mostly online. This is believed to make entering the awards easier, particularly for smaller practices.

The new awards website will go live on Monday 4 June. The registration and submissions windows will open simultaneously, and run until Tuesday 31 July.

New Landscape Institute Awards categories for 2018

Dame Sylvia Crowe Award for Outstanding International Contribution to People, Place and Nature

Dame Sylvia Crowe (1901-1997) was one the landscape profession’s foremost leaders. Throughout a distinguished career, she handled landscapes of hugely diverse scales – from small garden details to hundreds of acres of new towns, forestry and reservoir margins.

The Dame Sylvia Crowe Award is the first to be open to individuals and organisations globally. It seeks to:

  • Reward excellence and leadership in the worldwide field of landscape and place.
  • Recognise the global reach of the landscaping profession.
  • Celebrate major achievements that benefit people, place and nature through landscape led-approaches. 

Dame Sylvia Crowe was president of the Institute of Landscape Architects (now the Landscape Institute) between 1957 and 1959. She was active in promoting the profession internationally through a number of landscape organisations.

Planting design, horticulture and strategic ecology

This category showcases established planting schemes and horticultural projects that contribute to the art and science of landscape architecture. This may include a range of sites, either standalone or part of a larger project.

Successful entries will be:

  • Innovative and appropriate to the setting.
  • Creative, functional and aesthetically pleasing.

Schemes should demonstrate environmental, ecological and/or educational responsibility.

Full list of open LI Awards categories in 2018

  • Adding Value Through Landscape
  • Communications and Presentation
  • Design for a Small-Scale Development
  • Design for a Medium-Scale Development
  • Design for a Large-Scale Development
  • Design for a Temporary Landscape
  • Heritage and Conservation
  • Science, Management and Stewardship
  • Landscape Policy and Research
  • Local Landscape Planning
  • Strategic Landscape Planning
  • Urban Design and Masterplanning
  • Planting Design, Horticulture and Strategic Ecology
  • Dame Sylvia Crowe Award for Outstanding International Contribution to People, Place and Nature
  • Client of the Year Award
  • Volunteer of the Year Award
  • New Landscape Professional of the Year Award

Key dates

  • 4 June – 31 July: Registration and online submissions
  • 22 November: Awards ceremony and dinner.
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button