• Makita
  • AwardsFeatured SliderLatestNewsPeople

    Winners of The Parks Trust Photography Competition

    The Parks Trust is happy to announce the winners of its 2018 Photography Competition.
    With over 160 entries received from people across the city, the contest was tougher than ever. Entries were split into three categories with youth and adult sections:
    • Parklife
    • Wildlife
    • Landscape
    For each category, a winner and a runner-up was chosen. An overall winner for the whole competition was then chosen.
    Graham Parsons was the overall winner, chosen for his stunning image of a male Common Darter dragonfly, taken at Howe Park Wood.
    The competition shortlist was cut down by an expert panel of judges. These including: Stephen Miller and Don Byatt from New City Photography Society, alongside The Parks Trust’s events & community engagement manager Julie Dawes and senior biodiversity officer, Martin Kincaid.
    Julie commented:
    “We would like to thank everyone who entered our 2018 Photography Competition. It was wonderful to see so many beautiful images of our parkland and the city’s varied wildlife.
    “We were hugely impressed by the quality of the photos received, but Graham’s stood out immediately and was loved by everyone on the panel. It takes real skill to get such a defined, clear photo of a dragonfly and he should be very proud of his efforts. Congratulations Graham!”
    The winning and runner-up images from the competition will appear alongside a selection of shots taken by The Parks Trust staff members, at an exhibition at Milton Keynes Central Library. The photos will be on display from the afternoon of Friday 14 September until early October.
    The full list of winners for The Parks Trust’s 2018 Photography Competition is as follows:

    Overall Adult Winner

    Graham Parsons (Common Darter at Howe Park Wood)

    Adult Landscape category winner

    Tony Goode (Lodge Lake)

    Adult Parklife category winner

    Justin Long (Floodplain Forest)


    Adult Wildlife category winner

    Graham Parsons (Common Darter at Howe Park Wood)

    Youth Landscape category winner

    Conor Gallacher (Ouse Valley)

    Youth Wildlife category winner

    Ashley Long (Turkey Tail fungus, Linford Lakes Nature Reserve)
    For more information please visit www.theparkstrust.com
    Show More

    Related Articles