AwardsFeatured SliderLatestNews

Recipients of prestigious RHS awards announced

The Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) has announced this year’s recipients of the prestigious RHS Annual Awards for exceptional contributions to horticulture.

Internationally recognised as being among the highest distinctions within the sector, 12 RHS accolades were awarded to those who have demonstrated horticultural excellence, personal endeavour and industry passion throughout their careers.

The most prestigious RHS accolade, The Victoria Medal of Honour, was awarded to three distinguished British horticulturists: RHS vice president Jim Gardiner, president of the Alpine Garden Society and former curator of RHS Garden Rosemoor Christopher Bailes and Jim (James) McColl, known for his involvement in BBC Scotland’s The Beechgrove Garden since its inception in 1978.

Christopher Brookes, Peter Sandwell and Keith Wiley were awarded the RHS Associate of Honour, an award presented to British citizens for their distinguished services to horticulture.

The Veitch Memorial Medal, an international award honouring individuals for their exceptional involvement in the advancement of the science, art and practice of horticulture, was awarded to John Anderson, Ian Young, Owen Johnson, Rosie (Maryrose) Peddle and the late Derek Spicer.

The Harlow Carr Medal, honouring significant contributions to horticulture in the North of England, was awarded to David Rose, longstanding commercial tomato producer, for his dedication to the industry in various roles; as a staff member at Myerscough College, and a Trustee, Director and strong supporter of the Southport Flower Show.

Recognising rising stars in horticulture who have already made an exceptional contribution to the practice, science and promotion of horticulture, The Roy Lancaster Award this year goes to Harry Baldwin, a horticultural taxonomist in the arboretum at Kew Gardens.

RHS rresident, Sir Nicholas Bacon, says: “I would like to offer my warmest congratulations to the distinguished recipients of these accolades which celebrate outstanding work within the horticultural industry. It is with pride that the RHS recognises and honours the dedicated work of those who have and continue to further the development of horticulture and of the Society.  Whilst we are unable to hold the annual awards ceremony this year it is important that we recognise and celebrate the significant contribution these individuals have made to the industry.”

For more information, click here.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button