• Makita
  • Featured SliderLatestNews

    SGD Awards 2017 – shortlist announced

    The Society of Garden Designers has announced the finalists in The SGD Awards 2017.

    A shortlist of 33 has been announced across 13 award categories including a sensory woodland garden at a children’s hospice, a public garden designed as a contemporary playscape at an Historic Royal Palace and a roof garden on one of the largest roof terraces in London.

    Chosen by an independent judging panel drawn from experts across the industry, the projects represent some of the very best in garden design from right across the UK and abroad.

    The shortlisted projects in the three Residential Garden categories and in the International, Public & Communal Outdoor Space, Garden Jewel and Roof Garden categories will now be entered into the People’s Choice Award which opens for votes on 1st October via the SGD Awards website www.sgdawards.com. The same finalists will also be competing for the highly coveted Grand Award, which will be decided by the main judging panel.


    Brede Place – Marian Boswall MSGD
    Chestnut Tree House – Ann-Marie Powell Gardens, principal designer Ann-Marie Powell MSGD
    Coach House – Jane Brockbank MSGD
    Courtyard, West London – Karen Rogers
    Domaine de Cambou – Fiona Stephenson MSGD
    Estuary Garden – Ian Kitson FSGD
    Great Martins – Matt Keightley MSGD
    Hale Garden – Carolyn Willitts
    Harbour Garden – Helen Elks-Smith MSGD
    Islington Courtyard Garden – Charlotte Rowe MSGD
    Kennet Gardens – Alexandra Froggatt
    Pelorus – David Loy
    Plimsoll Terrace – Emily Erlam
    Private Gloucestershire Estate – Lulu Urquhart and Adam Hunt
    Ridgmount – Acres Wild, principal designer Debbie Roberts MSGD
    Shared Courtyard Garden, Manchester – Anne Windsor
    Sinuous Path – Sue Townsend MSGD
    Sopwell House Hotel – Ann-Marie Powell Gardens, principal designer Ann-Marie Powell MSGD
    The Magic Garden – Robert Myers MSGD
    Tyre Hill House – Matt Keightley MSGD
    Villa Balbiano – Christian Sweet MSGD
    Villa Palmera – James Basson MSGD
    Vineyard Mews – Matt Keightley MSGD
    Westmeon – The Garden Company, principal designer James Scott MSGD
    Willifield – The Garden Company, principal designer James Scott MSGD
    Woodlands – Sarah Jarman and Anna Murphy

    Finalists in the SGD student categories will be announced later in October.

    The winners of all 19 awards, including the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Grand Award, the Judges’ Award and the People’s Choice Award, will be revealed at The SGD Awards ceremony on Friday 2nd February 2018. The event, which returns to London’s Landmark Hotel for a third year, promises to be the highlight of the garden design calendar. Tickets for the Ceremony go on sale online on 20th October.

    Visit the SGD Awards website to see images of all the shortlisted projects in the main award categories. www.sgdawards.com

    Photo Credit: Marianne Majerus

    Show More

    Related Articles